FIBA Europe U20
European Championship for Women

The 2011 FIBA Europe European Championship for Women Division A is hosted by the Serbia Basketball Federation for the first time.

The whole tournament was supposed to be played in Novi Sad. Due to a clash in dates with the EXIT musical festival during the first weekend, Groups C and D have been moved to Zrenjanin.

The competition format remains the same as last season for Division A.

16 teams are split into four groups of four teams. At the end of the preliminary round the top three teams per group move to the qualifying round.

Group A: Germany, Poland, Serbia, Ukraine
Group B: Lithuania, Romania, Russia, Turkey
Group C: Belarus, France, Netherlands, Italy
Group D: Great Britain, Latvia, Slovak Republic, Spain

 singers and dancers at the U20 European opening ceremony  ©  The bottom four teams must play in a relegation group in which each team plays the other twice. The bottom two teams are relegated to Division B for the 2012 edition.

The second round, also known as the Qualifying Round is the creation of two groups of six teams.

Groups A and B are merged to form Group E while Groups C and D become Group F. The results from the preliminary round are taken into account while teams from the opposing preliminary round groups play each other.

The top four teams from the two groups then qualify for the Final Round, also known as the final 8 or quarter-final. The remaining teams participate in the 9th to 12th place Classification Round.

The Final Round is basically a knock-out competition with the brackets determining the finishing order in each group.

The first team in each group plays the fourth team in the other group while the second placed teams play the third placed ones.

 singers and dancers at the U20 European opening ceremony  ©  The losers from the quarter-final play off in the 5th to 8th place competition. The winners of the semi-final contest the final while the losers play in the third place match. is covering Group C and D in Zrenjanin until the second round.

For the final phase, and womensbasketball-in-france are working together to bring a wider coverage of the tournament while complementing FIBA Europe.

All Serbia games are televised life, but we are not able to provide any game footage due to media rights.

This page is updated regularly during the competition and appears in our RSS Feed to help you keep track. In order to subscribe to our RSS Feed please read: What is a RSS Feed?

2011 U20 Division A opening ceremony 
Move your mouse on the small pictures to view

Belarus U20France U20Germany U20Great Britain U20Italy U20Lithuania U20Netherlands U20Poland U20
Romania U20Latvia U20Russia U20serbia U20Slovak Republic U20Spain U20Turkey U20Ukraine U20

The Division B competition is held in Ohrid, Macedonia at the same time.

10 teams are split into two groups of five who battle for promotion.

Group A: Bulgaria, F.Y.R Macedonia, Hungary, Portugal, Sweden
Group B: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Greece, Israel

The top 4 teams from each group qualify for the quarter-final stage, which then follows the same rules as Division A. The winners of the semi-final matches gain promotion to Division A.

The bottom teams from the group phase face each other in a two-game aggregate series to determine 9th and 10th place.

Leave FIBA Europe U20 European Championship 2011 page and go to U20 History

GO to FIBA section

Go to "What's New" page

GO to Home page

Return to the top of page

Basketball picture credits:

Date created: 7th July 2011

hit counter

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.