Galatasaray Medical Park
awarded as first ever
EuroLeague Women Final Eight hosts

On the 20 October 2011, FIBA Europe announced that the hosts of the 2012 EuroLeague Women Final Eight was Galatasaray Medical Park.

This announcement officially brought to an end 34 years of Final Fours in this competition.

Galatasaray Medical Park will host the competition final in the Abdi İpekçi Arena (formally called Abdi İpekçi Sports Complex) in Istanbul from 28 March 2012 until 1 April 2012.

FIBA Europe President Olafur Rafnsson said: "Istanbul is a major tourist destination and a hotspot for sports events. I am positive that this will be a tournament that everybody will enjoy."

Abdi İpekçi Arena ©  Only two clubs applied to host the final 8, UMMC Ekaterinburg the Final Four hosts from 2011 and Galatasaray MP.

FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin explained why Galatasaray was selected: "We had two high quality bids but in the end we decided to go with Galatasaray as this will set a milestone, the first time a EuroLeague Women final tournament will be staged in Turkey".

The Turkish Basketball Federation are experienced in bidding for prestigious events.

Turkey hosted the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Men and will be the host of the 2014 FIBA World Championship for Women. In addition they were also handed the 2012 Olympic Qualifying competition for women.

The format of the Final Eight

The eight teams that qualify for the final are ranked (seeded) according to their performance during the group phase.

The teams are then split into two groups of four according to the ranking:

Group A: 1, 4, 5, 8
Group B: 2, 3, 6, 7

Each club plays the other club in their group in the traditional round robin system. That is on each day a total of four matches are played.

The final position of each team during the three-day round robin determines the order of the classification games.

All teams have a rest day before playing in the final classification games. The 7th place match features the teams that will have finished bottom of each group, while the fifth place match features the team that will have come third.

The bronze medal or third place match is between the runners up while the group winners play in the final match.

This new format also means that it is possible that the final match could be between clubs of the same federation, which had been stopped after the 2001 final.

Where to watch EuroLeague basketball

Visit our 2011-12 Ligue Féminine de Basketball page

Visit our EuroLeague Women index page

Visit our homepage

Visit WBBIF blog for latest news

Return to the top of EuroLeague Women news page

Picture credits:

Date created: 14 December 2011

hit counter

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

EuroLeague Women Logo ©

Season has come to an end - Looking ahead to 2013

2012 EuroLeague Women Final 8 Tournament Page

Where to watch EuroLeague Women basketball

Modification to competition format - 2011-2012

Play-off series MVP awards

Game 2: Penny Taylor (Fenerbahçe SK)
Game 1: Seimone Augustus (Sparta&K Moscow Region)

FIBA Europe Player of the week

Round 14: Eva Vitecková (Eva Vitecková)
Round 13: Edwige Lawson-Wade (Lattes Montpellier)
Round 12: Iva Ciglar (Seat Unisze Györ)
Round 11: Asjha Jones (Rivas Ecópolis)
Round 10: Lucia Kupcikova (Good Angels Kosice)
Round 9: Quanitra Hollingsworth (Seat Unisze Györ)
Round 8: Candice Dupree (Sparta&K Moscow Region)
Round 7: Angel McCoughtry (Fenerbahçe SK)
Round 6: Tina Charles (Galatasaray Medical Park) / Géraldine Robert (Lotos Gdynia)

Round 5: Erika De Souza (Perfumerías Avenida)
Round 4: Diana Taurasi (Galatasaray Medical Park)
Round 3: Dewanna Bonner (Perfumerías Avenida)
Round 2: Quanitra Hollingsworth (Seat Unisze Györ) and Ann Wauters (Ros Casares)

Round 1: Diana Taurasi (Galatasaray Medical Park)

EuroLeague Women - Final 8 Seeding
# Team Pts
1. Fenerbahçe SK 16
2. Ros Casares 14
3. Wisla Can-Pack 12
4. Rivas Ecópolis 10
5. Galatasaray MP 10
6. Sparta&K Moscow Region 10
7. Perfumerías Avenida 8
8. UMMC Ekaterinburg 8
9. Good Angels Kosice 6
10. Nadezhda Orenburg 6
11. Beretta-Famila 6
12. Bourges Basket 4
13. ZVVK USK Prague 4
14. CCC Polkowice 4
15. Lattes Montpellier 2