International youth basketball draw 2010
FIBA Europe European Championships Women
U18 Division A, Division B groups

 Spain U18 champions of Europe  © FIBA Europe

The international youth basketball tournament in the Slovak Republic this year is not only the U18 FIBA Europe European Championship Women but also the qualifying tournament for the 2011 U19 FIBA World championship.

Spain are the defending champions. Yet no country has been able to retain its trophy since the championship has become an annual event.

However since 2004, Spain have won the title twice and finished third on three occasions.

The only time Spain had failed to win a medal was in 2008 when they finished fifth. This disappointing placing did not stop this generation of players to pick up a silver medal in the U19 World Championship in 2009.

France have never won the championship in this age group but picked up a silver medal last year. France had also won silver in 2002 and 1981 and bronze in 2005.

The 16 teams in Division A have been drawn into the following groups:

SerbiaRussiaLithuaniaCzech Republic
Slovak RepublicSloveniaLatviaUkraine

Division B

 Hungary return to Division A ©

Hungary won the division B title in 2009

SwitzerlandBosnia and HerzegovinaEstoniaIsrael
Luxembourg Scotland 

Return to "What's New" page

Return from international youth basketball news to FIBA European youth competition index

Return from Youth International Basketball page to Home page

picture credits:
FIBA Europe

Date created: 16 January 2009

hit counter

blog stats

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.

BlockBuilder 2