UMMC Ekaterinburg to host EuroLeague Women final four

 EuroLeague Women Banner   © FIBA Europe For the last time in this format the EuroLeague Women final four hosts will be 2003 champions UMMC Ekaterinburg.

It was in 2007 when the final four was also staged in Russia when Sparta&K Moscow Region had picked up their first European club championship.

About this year's bidding process there was not a lot of information supplied. But FIBA Europe Secretary General Nar Zanolin said "It is about time that we go to the other side of the Urals," and concluded "Our friends from Ekaterinburg more than convinced us with their bid to host the event and the excitement in the club and the city is enormous."

Both semi-finals will be played on Friday, 8 April with the 3rd place match and final on Sunday, 10 April 2011.

As mentioned above, the format of the competition changes for 2012 and the final four will become a final eight.FIBA Europe will release more information in the near future.

Return to the EuroLeague Women index

Go to "what's New Page"

Return to the index at the top of page

picture credits:

FIBA Europe

Date created: 08 March February 2011

hit counter

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.