EuroBasket Women AQT
hosts and dates confirmed

Italy looking forward to hosting AQT for Eurobasket qualification © FIBA Europe

In September 2010, FIBA Europe announced that the EuroBasket Women Additional Qualification Round (ADQ) would be replaced by Additional Qualifying Tournaments (AQT).

Italy and Hungary won the right to host these tournaments coming out on top of the ballot during the European Federation's executive body meeting.

The ten teams that missed out on direct qualification for EuroBasket have been split into two groups. Group A games will be played in Sopron, Hungary while those for Group B will be played in Taranto, Italy.

Group A: Bulgaria, Finland, Hungary, Netherlands and Ukraine

Group B: Serbia, Belgium, Germany, Italy and Romania

The round-robin competition will take place between 3-5 June 2011. The winners from each group will then play off in a home and away aggregate score series on 12 and 15 June 2011.

The winner will take up the last spot for EuroBasket 2011.

Return from EuroBasket Women basketball news to FIBA Europe competition index

Return to "What's New" page

Return to Home page

GO Back to the top of the page

Women picture credits:
FIBA Europe

Date created: 07 December 2010

hit counter

blog stats

New! Nouveau!

Comment in the box below on what you have just read! Laissez un commentaire ici!