Rivas Ecópolis lift La Copa de la Reina
for the first time

Rivas Ecópolis win 2011 Copa de la Reina  © womensbasketball-in-france

Since 2007 La Copa de la Reina has been the property of Ros Casares. So playing at home they came into this final as favourites despite struggling in the semi-final.

However Rivas Ecópolis with two formers players from Ros Casares won the 49th edition of the Queen's Cup (63-59) in a dramatic fashion.

The two teams were evenly balanced all through the game with neither side able to dominate.

Rebekka Brunson playing at the 2011 Copa de la Reina  © womensbasketball-in-france

With six minutes left to play and the game tied (54-54) both teams stepped up intensity. They remained tied (56-56) until Rebekka Brunson (in picture) from Ros Casares broke the deadlock with a 2+1 play.

However money-time favoured the guests from Madrid with Anna Cruz and Dewanna Bonner doing most of the scoring.

Ros Casares: Laia Palau 8, Marta Fernández 4, Katie Douglas 10, Rebekka Brunson 15, Nicky Anosike 5, Jana Vesela 6, Cindy Lima 0, Edwige Lawson-Wade 9, Nuria Martínez 2

Rivas Ecópolis: Elisa Aguilar 8, Anna Cruz 7, Amaya Valdemoro 12, Dewanna Bonner 21, Courtney Paris 10, Laura Nicholls 3, Laura Herrera 0, Clara Bermejo 0, Linnea Lilejstrand, Vega Gimeno 2

Former French international Edwige Lawson-Wade went 3-of-4 from behind the arc for Ros Cosares while former Bourges Basket star Laia Palau finished with 9 points.

What happened in the semi-finals the day before:

Ros Casares trailed Mann Filter Zaragoza (27-45) at the interval and looked down and out.

However they picked up during the second half and during an exciting final quarter outscored Zaragoza to win (68-66).

Allison Feaster-Strong, Bulgarian international Jacklin Zlatanova and Serbian international Ines Kresovic - who all have played for clubs in France - were in action for Mann Filter Zaragoza.

In the second semi-final Rivas Ecopólis also came back from far to force overtime to beat Perfumerías Avenida (81-76).

2011 Copa de la Reina winners Rivas Ecópolis 
Move your mouse on the small pictures to view

Copa de la ReinaDewanna Bonner MVP Copa de la Reina 20112011 Copa de la Reina winners Rivas EcópolisEdwig-Lawson-Wade and Elisa Aguilar
LaiaPalau and KatieDouglas at the Copa de la Reina2011 Copa de la Reina Ines KresovicJacklin Zlatanova playing at Copa de la Reina 2011Copa de la Reina

Ros win again in 2010

2010 semi-finals

Copa de la Reina 2009 for the third time in a row to Ros Casares

Stories from the 2008 edition of Copa de la Reina

Return to the top of page

Picture credits:


Date created: 9 January 2011

hit counter

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.